Criminal Defense Attorneys in Chino, CA
Over 50 Years of Combined Experience

Texting While Driving Violations

Chino Attorney Handling Traffic Tickets

In the state of California, it is illegal to text while you are operating a motor vehicle. Distracted drivers trying to text are quickly becoming one of the leading causes of car accidents, so it is no surprise that offenses of texting and driving are vigorously prosecuted. You can only use a mobile device while driving if you have a hands-free method of communication, such as an earpiece or connecting your phone to your car stereo. If you text while driving, you can face fines and marks on your driving record.

If you are under the age of 18, you are not permitted to use a mobile device at all while driving, and this includes using a mobile device with a hands-free communication method. The only exception for this law is using your phone to contact the police or other authorities in the event of an emergency.

What are the penalties for texting while driving?

If you are cited for operating a mobile device while driving, you can be fined.

The fines for these citations are as follows:

  • First offense: $20
  • Second and/or subsequent offenses: $50

Depending on the nature of the offense and the circumstances, your fine can be more than three times the initial amount. However, you are able to challenge a citation for texting while driving in traffic court. At The Madrid Law Firm, our Chino criminal defense attorneys have more than 50 years of experience with the California justice system.

We are proud to offer free case evaluations to all potential clients. To find out more about how we may be able to help, please give us a call at (909) 628-0068 or complete our online consultation request form.

Why Hire Madrid Law Firm?

  • Experienced

  • Dedicated

  • Successful