Texting While Driving Violations
Chino Attorney Handling Traffic Tickets
In the state of California, it is illegal to text while you are operating
a motor vehicle. Distracted drivers trying to text are quickly becoming
one of the leading causes of car accidents, so it is no surprise that
offenses of texting and driving are vigorously prosecuted. You can only
use a mobile device while driving if you have a hands-free method of communication,
such as an earpiece or connecting your phone to your car stereo. If you
text while driving, you can face fines and marks on your driving record.
If you are under the age of 18, you are not permitted to use a mobile device
at all while driving, and this includes using a mobile device with a hands-free
communication method. The only exception for this law is using your phone
to contact police or other authorities in the event of an emergency.
What are the penalties for texting while driving?
If you are cited for operating a mobile device while driving, you can be fined.
The fines for these citations are as follows:
- First offense: $20
- Second and/or subsequent offenses: $50
Depending on the nature of the offense and the circumstances, your fine
can be more than three times the initial amount. However, you are able
to challenge a citation for texting while driving in traffic court. At
The Madrid Law Firm, our Chino
criminal defense attorneys have
more than 50 years of experience with the California justice system.
We are proud to offer free case evaluations to all potential clients. To
find out more about how we may be able to help, please
give us a call or complete our online
consultation request form.